Kappa alpha psi fraternity, Inc.

Eastern Province

brief history

About the Eastern Province

The Eastern Province, as a defined region of the Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Inc., traces its origin to 1925. Earl B. Dickerson, the fifth Grand Polemarch of Kappa Alpha Psi, appointed John Miller Marquess the first Eastern Province Polemarch following the adjournment of the 15th Grand Chapter Meeting in December 1925.

Brother Marquess was a charter member of the Langston-Oklahoma City Alumni Chapter in 1922 and the third president of the Langston University [1916-23]. At the time of his appointment, he was pursuing an advanced degree at Columbia University and a member of the Columbia University Chapter, the Omicron of Kappa Alpha Psi.

The boundaries of the Province have by no means been constant. In 1925, the Province included chapters as far north as Boston, MA, and as far south as Washington, DC. During the tenure of Dr. James E. Allen, the fifth Eastern Province Polemarch [1933-34], the northern border was New York and the southern border was Durham, NC. However, for most of its existence, the area comprising the Eastern Province has been the state of Maryland, the District of Columbia, and the Commonwealth of Virginia. Today, the territory also includes the island of Bermuda.

Eastern province

Past Province Polemarch’s

Robert L. Jenkins

2015 – 2019

Linwood J. Smith


Cornelius Hudgins IV

2014 – 2015

Howard Tutman III

2011 – 2014

Dwight E. Thomas

2011 – 2011

John T. Lanier

2007 – 2010

Rufus Clanzy

2003 – 2007

Anthony B. Hill

1997 – 2003

Joseph E. Finley

1994 – 1997

William B. Croom

1991 – 1994

Howard L. Tutman, Jr.

1988 – 1991

Charles A. Brockett

1986 – 1988

Howard L. Tutman, Jr.


Clarence F. Nelson, Jr.

1979 – 1986

James B. Abram, Jr. 

1975 – 1979

James A. Overton

1968 – 1975

Charles G. Tildon, Jr.


Clarance F. Nelson, Jr.

1979 – 1986

Jesse O. Dedmon, Jr.

1960 – 1964

William T. Carter

1955 – 1960

Victor J. Ashe

1951 – 1955

William H. Greene

1943 – 1950

James M. Coggs

1939 – 1942

William H. Greene

1935 – 1938

James E. Allen


Mortimer Harris

1928 – 1930

Harcourt Tynes

1927 – 1928

John Miller Marquess

1925 – 1927

Current Province Leadership

*Indicates members of the Alexandria-Fairfax (VA) Alumni Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.

Richard B. Mattox*

30th Eastern Province Polemarch

Paul Robinson

Senior Province Vice Polemarch

Chief Bentil

Junior Province Vice Polemarch

Want to learn more about the Eastern Province?

To learn more information about the Eastern Province of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., please visit the Eastern Province website.